kascecases.blogg.se

Story of my life song original
Story of my life song original





story of my life song original

Taking seriously her own words "take my silver and my gold," she sent all her jewelry to the Church Mission Society to be sold. The daughter of a clergyman, she had a conversion experience at the age of fourteen and was confirmed in the Church of England in 1853. She began writing poetry at an early age and was also an accomplished singer and pianist. A twelfth couplet was added at some later point, producing the six stanzas published in the Psalter Hymnal.Īlthough her formal education was sporadic because of poor health, Havergal learned six foreign languages, including Greek and Hebrew, and was well read in many subjects. "Take My Life and Let It Be" was first published in the 1874 appendix to Charles B. The text is a "catalog" hymn that lists aspects of our lives and offers them in Christ's service. I was too happy to sleep and passed most of the night in praise and renewal of my own consecration, and these little couplets formed themselves and chimed in my heart, one after another, till they finished with "Ever, only, all, for Thee." gave me the prayer, "Lord, give me all this house." And He just did! Before I left the house, everyone had got a blessing. There were ten persons in the house, some unconverted and long prayed for, some converted but not rejoicing Christians. She told the following story about writing this hymn: Oystermouth, Glamorganshire, Wales, 1879) originally composed her text in eleven couplets as a hymn of "self-consecration to Christ" on February 4, 1874.







Story of my life song original